Home News Women's T20 World Cup Final: Australia beat India by 85 runs

Women’s T20 World Cup Final: Australia beat India by 85 runs

In the final match of ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, Australia defeated India by 85 runs and took the World Cup trophy for the fifth time.

After winning the toss, Australia came out to bat first, losing 4 wickets in 20 overs and scored 184 runs and set a target of 185 runs for the World Cup victory in front of India. In response, the Indian women’s team all out for 99 runs in 19.1 overs.

This has been the main cause of defeat. Shefali Verma 2, Smriti Mandhana 11, Tania Bhatia 2, Jemima Rodriguez 0 and Harmanpreet Kaur scored 4 runs. From Australia, Megan Schutt took the maximum 4 and Jess Jonathan took 3 wickets.

Smriti Mandhana 11 and Jemima Rodriguez returned to the pavilion at zero. Mandhana was caught by Nikola Carey off Sophie Molinics. At the same time, Jemima was dismissed by Carrie off the ball of Jess Jonathan. Shefali Verma, the youngest player to play the final, returned to the pavilion after scoring 2 runs. He was caught by wicketkeeper Alyssa Hilli off Megan Shoot.

Australia gave a target of 185 runs to India

Australia set a mammoth target of 185 runs to win the title in front of India in the final at Melbourne Cricket Ground. For Australia, Beth Mooney scored the highest 78 runs while Alyssa Hilli scored 75 runs from 39 balls. Deepti Sharma took 2 wickets for 38 runs in 4 overs for India. After winning the toss in the presence of around 60,000 spectators, the Australian team came out to bat first and scored 184 runs for four wickets in 20 overs.

The Australian team got a stormy start with both their openers Beth Mooney (78 not out) and Alyssa Hilly (75) sharing 115 runs in 11.4 overs for the first wicket. Radha Yadav broke this partnership by becoming huge and caught by Veda Krishnamurthy at the boundary line. Hilly made his 12th half-century in 39 balls with the help of seven fours and five sixes.

After Hilly’s dismissal, Mooney completed the ninth half-century of his career and he added captain Maine Lenning (16) and Mooney 39 for the second wicket. Ashley Gardner (2) was dismissed only after Lenning was dismissed. Both batsmen were out in Deepti Sharma’s over.

Mooney, however, held one end and led his team to a strong target. Mooney hit 10 fours off 54 balls. Apart from them, captain Meg Lenning scored 16 off 15 balls with two fours, Ashley Gardner scored two, Rachel Haynes scored four and Nicola Carrie scored five not out. Deepti Sharma took two wickets from India and Radha Yadav and Poonam Yadav took one each.

Australia won the toss

Australia won the toss and decided to bat first and gave India bowling. India has not made any changes in its playing eleven. Famous pop singer Katy Perry entertained over 60,000 fans at the Melbourne Cricket Ground before the finals.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

When will domestic cricket begin in India: Sourav Ganguly

Cricket Board of India (BCCI) President Sourav Ganguly has said that the Indian domestic season will start only when it is safe...

Don’t want to be limited to Tests, I want to contribute in all formats: Holder

Jason Holder has command of the West Indies Test team but says he aspires to play in all formats. He said that...

Cricket Australia starting training later this month: report

There is great news for cricket fans. The time to clear the cricket break from the killer pandemic Corona Vavirus (Coronavirus) is...

Will Tamanna marry Abdul Razzaq, the actress herself told the whole truth

There have been reports that Tamanna Bhatia and Pakistani cricketer Abdul Razzaq are going to marry for some time.

Recent Comments